Co-Mentoring

Many of our industry partners welcome researchers from TUM, other universities and research institutions as co-mentors of our projects. As co-mentor you advise, along with the industry mentor, TUM-DI-LAB students working on a particular project that matches your interest. Co-mentors profit from the exchange of ideas with industry experts in the field, are in touch with current challenges faced by the industry, and profit from the TUM-DI-LAB network of experts and partners.

Are you interested in being a co-mentor? Please contact Dr. Ricardo Acevedo Cabra

Current and former Co-Mentors:


Dr. Ricardo Acevedo Cabra

E-Mail: di-lab@ma.tum.de

Coordinator & Project Leader of TUM Data Innovation Lab (TUM-DI-LAB). He is the project leader of all TUM-DI-LAB projects up to date and supervises all co-mentors.

Dr. Maximilian Engel

E-Mail: maximilian.engel@tum.de

Postdoctoral Researcher at the TUM Chair of Multiscale and Stochastic Dynamics

Maximilian will co-mentor the summer semester 2020 project:

Dr. Matthias Heinig

E-Mail: matthias.heinig@helmholtz-muenchen.de

Head of bioinformatics core facility, HMGU in Munich

Matthias co-mentors the summer semester 2020 project:

  • Deep learning for genetic risk prediction

Michael Rauchensteiner

E-Mail: Michael.Rauchensteiner@ma.tum.de

Doctoral candidate at the Chair of Applied Numerical Analysis (TUM).

He currently co-mentors the sumer semester 2019 projects:

In winter semester 2018 Michael co-mentored the projects:

Oleh Melnyk

E-Mail: oleh.melnyk@tum.de

Doctoral candidate at the Chair of Applied Numerical Analysis (TUM).

He currently co-mentors the summer semester 2020 project:

  • Multi-Agent Reinforcement Learning for Logistics

In previous semesters Oleh co-mentored the projects:

Philippe Sünnen

E-Mail: philippe.suennen@ma.tum.de

Doctoral candidate at the Chair of Applied Numerical Analysis (TUM). 

He co-mentors the winter semester 2020 project:

Resource Forecasting for Satellite Operations using Multivariate Time Series Data

In previous semesters he co-mentored the projects:

Fabian Wagner

E-Mail: fabian.wagner@ma.tum.de

Doctoral candidate at the TUM Chair for Numerical Mathematics.  He co-mentors the summer semester 2020 project:

  • Radar SLAM for Autonomous Driving

Özge Sahin

E-Mail: ozge.sahin@tum.de

Doctoral Researcher at the Associate TUM Professorship of Applied Mathematical Statistics

She co-mentors the summer semester 2020 project:

Stefan Bamberger

E-Mail: stefan.bamberger@tum.de

Doctoral candidate at the TUM Chair of Applied Numerical Analysis. 

He co-mentors the winter semester 2020 project:

Smart speech recognition engine

In previous semesters he co-mentored

Marija Tepegjozova

E-Mail: m.tepegjozova@tum.de

Doctoral candidate at the TUM Professorship of Applied Mathematical Statistics

She co-mentors the winter semester 2020 project:

Active Scene Understanding for Video Labeling

In previous semesters Michael co-mentored the projects:

Tim Fuchs

E-Mail: Tim.Fuchs@ma.tum.de

Doctoral candidate at the TUM Professorship of Optimization and Data Analysis

He co-mentors the winter semester 2020 project:

i4.0 Monitoring System for Better Utilization of Warehouse Forklift Fleet

In previous semesters Tim co-mentored the projects:

Dr. Tobias Köppl

E-Mail: koepplto@ma.tum.de

Lecturer (akademischer Rat auf Zeit) at the Chair for Numerical Mathematics (TUM)

He co-mentors the summer semester 2020 project:

  • Uncertainty Estimation for Deep Medical Image Segmentation

Leonardo Araujo

E-Mail: Leonardo.Araujo@tum.de

Doctoral candidate at the TUM Chair of Advanced Mathematics and Analytical Mechanics.

He co-mentors the winter semester 2020 project:

End-to-end process enhancement for Crew management

In previous semesters he co-mentored the project:

Maximilian Fiedler

E-Mail: maximilian.fiedler@tum.de

Doctoral candidate at the TUM Chair of Applied Geometry and Discrete Mathematics

He co-mentors the summer semester 2020 project:

  • Predictive Process Management for aircraft MRO

Laure Vuaille

E-Mail: laure.vuaille@tum.de

Doctoral candidate at the Chair of Applied Numerical Analysis (TUM) in collaboration with BMW Group. 

She is co-mentor of the winter semester project:

Machine Learning-based Accelerators for 3D Physics Simulators

In previous semester she co-mentored the projects:


Former Co-Mentors

Dr. Nada Sissouno

E-Mail: sissouno@ma.tum.de

Lecturer (akademische Rätin auf Zeit) at the TUM Chair of Applied and Numerical Analysis

Nada co-mentored the winter semester 2019 project:

Dr. Stephan Haug

E-Mail: haug@tum.de

Head of the statistical consulting unit TUM|Stat.

Stephan currently co-mentors the sumer semester 2019 project:

Sandro Belz

E-Mail: sandro.belz@ma.tum.de

Doctoral candidate at the Chair of Applied Numerical Analysis (TUM). He co-mentored the summer semester 2019 project: